In Greed and Lust We Trust

by The Surging Waves

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $7 USD  or more




'In Greed and Lust We Trust' couldn't have come at a better time. As Wall Street and the global elite tighten their grip on the rest of us, this collection of songs is an offering of hope when the world needs it most - a light in a dark place.

The Surging Waves formed in Suzhou, Jiangsu, China in 2011. Lead guitarist and singer Dave Matthews wanted to do something different, and in the last year he has led the Waves to become one of the most sought-after bands on the expat scene in Suzhou. 'Merely peddling covers of Hotel California is not enough,' Matthews thought, and 'In Greed and Lust We Trust' reflects the band's dedication to crafting a unique listening experience.

The album explores a variety of themes, from greed and altruism to road safety and space exploration. Two tracks in particular, Crazy World and Let Your Mind Wander, paint a vivid image of life as an expat in one of China's fastest growing cities and stand out as snapshots, capturing scenes otherwise forgotten or overlooked as byproducts of globalization. The album's opener, Daybreak, sets the tone with a tight bass groove from the stalwart Aaron Kraft, and raging guitar work from Matthews. The Things That People Do For Money, a crowd favorite, inspires anti-capitalist sentiments in all those who hear it, while Lewis evokes the languid feeling of floating in amniotic fluid--a fitting tribute penned by none other than young Lewis Matthews while still in the womb. E-Bike Rider rocks with all of the force of a speeding taxicab driving headlong into a busy intersection, and Sweet Love features brilliant keyboard work from Andy Snyder. Until the End, guitarist/vocalist Emily Snow's welcome contribution to the album, channels the collective rages, desires, and aspirations of the band, culminating in a crescendo of sound certain to shake the souls of listeners around the world. A little known fact about bandleader Dave Matthews is that he was in the employ of NASA for a period of time, and together with Alka Seltza, Matthews chronicles the rise and fall of a secret program to explore the moons of Jupiter in Moon Hopping. The album closes gracefully with a whimsical take on life in an un-named, cracked-out suburban region in the West Midlands in England - My Beautiful Neighborhood.

-Pete McConnell


released June 24, 2012

The Surging Waves:
Aaron Kraft - Bass (all tracks), Drum Programming, Synth Bass, Keyboards, Rhythm Guitar (track 1)
Dave Matthews - Guitar, Ukelele, Vocals
Pete McConnell - Drums
Emily Snow - Guitar, Vocals
Andy Snyder - Keyboards
Jim Smoothie - Trumpet (track 4)

Produced by Dave Matthews
Engineered and mixed by Daniel Tibbs a.k.a. Alka Seltza
Mastered by Dave Simerick at Sound Source Productions
Artwork by Pete McConnell

All rights reserved. Unauthorized copying, re-recording, hiring, lending, public performance and broadcasting of this record is prohibited. ℗ & © 2012 The Surging Waves.



all rights reserved


The Surging Waves 苏州市, China

contact / help

Contact The Surging Waves

Streaming and
Download help